Tallow Wax Musings and Future Investigation

A day after making tallow wax I have noticed an issue with the result.  The issue lies with the density and strength of the wax.  When brought to room temperature the wax becomes brittle and eventually extremely malleable almost to the point of a clay consistency. After doing some research I found that tallow was becomes soft when near an environment of 80 degrees Fahrenheit. However, I have found an interesting solution, adding beeswax.  I learned of a method of combining beeswax with tallow at a particular proportion that allows a candle to have additional strength with the additional bonus of having a better smell.  Thus I have placed an order for a block of beeswax which should be arriving in a few days.

Also I have come across a company, US Wellness Meats, that actually makes their own tallow candles, except with the addition of palm wax.  This company is a meat selling company that makes use of the left over fat they have to make soap and candles.  There candles are said to be popular sellers and they appear to be expanding their line of candles, showing the demand for this type of product. This is the link to the site it is here, the article can be found about a third of the way to half way down the page.

The next step to my process I have been hoping to modify is the cutting of the fat and working with a much faster process. The directions for the method I went by called for using ground fat, but the meat market I obtained the fat from would not grind the fat for me.  Thus I have decided to take control of the grinding process myself.  I have purchased a simple hand crank grinder from an outdoor store that should be arriving the same day as the beeswax.  My hope is twofold with this grinder.  One I hope that a grinder will expedite the actual process of cutting/grinding the fat into small portions. I also am hoping that the grinder will also cut the fat into smaller portions. With this I am for a greater amount of surface area on the total fat used. When I chopped the pieces of fat with a knife I was limited to the size that I could safely handle and cut.  If I can get smaller pieces I hypothesize that a greater surface area will allow more fat to be drawn out of the pieces and thus give me a greater yield in the end of the process.

The end of this week I plan to enact my two major steps. One, making the candle without beeswax, without beeswax with essential oils for fragrance, and with beeswax.  The next step I plan to take is using the grinder to grind up my remaining fat and make another batch of tallow with hopefully a greater yield than the time before.

This entry was posted in MICRO-productX. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment